Well, after my setback, I had some significant progress.
Usually I gain 3 lbs after the weekend. Last weekend, I thought would be a repeat. I didn't do so well as usual, and my parents invited us over for dinner Sat evening. I had a salad and a little bit of their greasy chili. So, I was expecting to gain a little.
However, when I stepped on the scale Monday morning, I had actually lost a pound! I was 216.4! I suspect it has something to do with the fact that we've been pretty broke lately and haven't eaten out much. I've been having to get stuff at the store to eat during the weekend. I think we only ate out breakfast once. So, I was pretty stoked about that! I hope that continues which may mean an even bigger loss of convenience...but I know it's worth it.
One big change I've made is that I'm no longer walking at the college (for now). I needed to increase my physical activity. I started doing a combo of walking at the college and the exercise tape, but the time it was taking was really cutting into my day. So, now I'm just doing a 30 min intense video. I was doing a 45 min. one but Comcast decided to take it off >:o. But the 30 min one seems more intense anyway, and seeing how I'm still losing weight, I'm going to stick with it for a while. It really makes me sweat! I don't have to put up with burning my face every day with sunscreen and don't have to worry about being run over. I still like a good walk, but will probably reserve that for leisure time.
You know it really irks me that no one but my husband has noticed my weight loss. I mean, you would think that someone could tell I've lost 43 lbs. No one has said anything. Maybe it's because when you have to lose 100+, 43 lbs doesn't make much of a dent in appearances. But I mean, I've lost several dress sizes and my clothes are falling off! It's not that I need constant praise or anything, but it would be nice to at least be recognized for all the hard work I'm doing. Thank goodness I have a loving husband who tells me so all the time, but sometimes you just want some women to notice, lol! When I told my Dad how much I lost, he doesn't seem to believe me. I think it's because they don't see me day in and day out and don't notice those subtle changes. There are some disadvantages to people noticing that you've lost weight. Like, women become jealous and people start asking what you've done to lose weight. That's a tricky question because what works for one person will probably not work for another. And I don't think most people could cut out all added sugar and live on a thousand calories a day.
I'm really starting to get the feeling that 199 isn't far off. Before it seemed so far, but now it's within reach. Only 15 lbs to go. There is no reason why I shouldn't reach it. I would love to get there by my birthday, but that's a long shot. Maybe by the end of June. I really want to treat myself for that! :-) Or maybe someone will treat me...hint hint.
ETA: Thighs-20" Last reading was 23" :-)
Thursday, May 26, 2011
Thursday, May 19, 2011
217.4 Setbacks
Well, I've official lost about 40lbs. I'm proud of that. Really proud. But that doesn't mean there haven't been setbacks along the way.
The week of my doctor's appt, I didn't lose any weight. The week after, despite still following my program, I gained 3 lbs. I also had a high calorie meal last Sunday. I really regretted that, especially because I knew that I needed to cut back on the weekends.
I went back up to 223 :/ So, I really took to heart what my doctor told me about upping my physical activity. I did try jogging, but it's really painful for me. So, I decided to do a combination of walking and then a workout video. That has helped me lose 6 lbs this week so far. It's been brutal. I've been sweating more than a hog! Oh, and I also cut my calories back down to between 900 and 1,000. I know that's probably not the most healthy thing, but I feel like I have to in order to keep losing weight.
I also feel that I've just recommitted myself to weight loss. Not that I ever gave up. It's just easy to get in a routine that makes you feel like your going nowhere.
I just hope and pray that this was the last plateau that I have before reaching my goals. I reeeeealy want to get down to 199!
The week of my doctor's appt, I didn't lose any weight. The week after, despite still following my program, I gained 3 lbs. I also had a high calorie meal last Sunday. I really regretted that, especially because I knew that I needed to cut back on the weekends.
I went back up to 223 :/ So, I really took to heart what my doctor told me about upping my physical activity. I did try jogging, but it's really painful for me. So, I decided to do a combination of walking and then a workout video. That has helped me lose 6 lbs this week so far. It's been brutal. I've been sweating more than a hog! Oh, and I also cut my calories back down to between 900 and 1,000. I know that's probably not the most healthy thing, but I feel like I have to in order to keep losing weight.
I also feel that I've just recommitted myself to weight loss. Not that I ever gave up. It's just easy to get in a routine that makes you feel like your going nowhere.
I just hope and pray that this was the last plateau that I have before reaching my goals. I reeeeealy want to get down to 199!
Tuesday, May 10, 2011
220 lbs-Mini Goal Reached
Yesterday I had my 3 month checkup with my doctor. It went very well. She was very proud of me for losing so much weight. She asked me what I've been doing. She said my blood sugar numbers were perfect and took some bloodwork. She should be getting back with me soon about that, but it all looks good from here. That gave me a little boost. It was exactly the vision I had in my head of what I wanted my doctor's reaction to be to all my hard work. It's what has kept me motivated for so many months. I wanted to prove to her I could do it.
She encouraged me to step up my workout routine so as not to plateau. I've been worried about that some as well. For the last week I've been walking 2 miles for about 45 min. She suggested that I workout for 30 min but intensify it by jogging for two minutes and walking for one. I haven't quite worked up to that yet. The last time I tried jogging I started getting shin splints. I kind of want to wait till I get down to 200 before I start jogging...unless I start to plateau.
One thing I know for sure is that I'm going to have to walk at a different time because we're having highs in the 90's already. This heat is really torturous. We've been talking about getting treadmill too which looks like a good option for weather extremes.
I've increased my daily calorie limit to 1,200 and that seems to be working well. Weekends still prove to be a harder area for me to control. It seems that I always gain 2-3 lbs by Monday. I just wish so badly that we had more healthy convenience foods. But overall, I'm really proud. I weighed in around 222 the morning of my doctor's appointment, so I just about reached the goal of 220 by my visit. No one is perfect!
She said that because I'm doing so well, I can wait 6 months to see her again. By that time, I don't think she will recognize me =)
Oh, and by the way...that dress I've been trying to fit into for two years...fit! I wore it to a funeral last weekend. I also got me some wedge heels to go with it. Funerals are really sad, but I hate to say that I felt really happy about fitting into that dress!
She encouraged me to step up my workout routine so as not to plateau. I've been worried about that some as well. For the last week I've been walking 2 miles for about 45 min. She suggested that I workout for 30 min but intensify it by jogging for two minutes and walking for one. I haven't quite worked up to that yet. The last time I tried jogging I started getting shin splints. I kind of want to wait till I get down to 200 before I start jogging...unless I start to plateau.
One thing I know for sure is that I'm going to have to walk at a different time because we're having highs in the 90's already. This heat is really torturous. We've been talking about getting treadmill too which looks like a good option for weather extremes.
I've increased my daily calorie limit to 1,200 and that seems to be working well. Weekends still prove to be a harder area for me to control. It seems that I always gain 2-3 lbs by Monday. I just wish so badly that we had more healthy convenience foods. But overall, I'm really proud. I weighed in around 222 the morning of my doctor's appointment, so I just about reached the goal of 220 by my visit. No one is perfect!
She said that because I'm doing so well, I can wait 6 months to see her again. By that time, I don't think she will recognize me =)
Oh, and by the way...that dress I've been trying to fit into for two years...fit! I wore it to a funeral last weekend. I also got me some wedge heels to go with it. Funerals are really sad, but I hate to say that I felt really happy about fitting into that dress!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)