Thursday, July 22, 2010

Day 4 - 250.2

Today went a little better. First, DH and I both got up early around 4:30. DH was the one who got me out of bed, lol. I was gonna wait till 5, but he was ready to go. Plus, I was rewarded later when he told me he thought our morning walk was energizing him during his work day.

We went a different direction back this time. We had good conversation. A police officer greeted us and told us that it was the best time of day to go walking. The only thing I was a little worried about was lighting since we were in open space. It was really humid too because it's been raining on and off. July has proved to be a very rainy month.

I was able to go back to bed and then get up around 11:30. Still not doing great getting up on time, but since I can't sleep, I've been going to bed around 2 or 3. I'm so nauseated and it makes me wake up with a dry mouth.

This morning DH and I decided that because the doctor didn't give me a diagnosis and just put me on the antibiotics as a precaution, and because they are causing me so much grief, that I would stop taking them. But later on when I woke up I decided that was probably not a good idea since one of the places I've been having pain has gotten so much better. I can wear jeans again without wanting to die.

But I wasn't gonna suffer needlessly. I called the doctor and asked if they could call in something for nausea. I don't want another pill, but there is no way I'm gonna get through another 6 days of this without help. DH picked it up tonight for me. I hope it works!

Today for lunch I tried a Lean Cuisine pizza that I got on sale at Kroger last week. It was a chicken bbq pizza. And OH. MY. GOD. It tasted just like Papa John's chicken bbq pizza! Maybe even better! Diet food never tasted this good before. I am going to have to introduce DH to this. It's the equivalent (in size) of maybe one piece of real pizza, but it hits the spot for lunch.

For dinner I made whole wheat farfalle pasta with Heart Smart Prego, ground turkey, and mushrooms sauteed in olive oil. Also, a salad on the side. Mmmmm goood! So far, breakfast has been the same. Kashi with banana.

BTW, I may not write every day. So, I'm probably going to have to stop numbering the days at some point, but I will still keep up with my weight. I don't know if anyone is reading this blog, but if you are and have any questions or suggestions, please feel free to leave them in the comment box.

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Day 3 - 250.4 lbs

Today didn't start out well. I didn't sleep at all last night. These antibiotics are not only making me nauseous, they are affecting my sleep. I only got about an hr of sleep when the alarm went off. I was SO disappointed in myself for not going walking. I didn't even wake the hubby. I forgot to make him lunch as well. That's not good because he will not make his own lunch. I was in so much pain.

I ended up getting up around 12:15pm. Horrible! But I was so disappointed that I decided to go walking at the college in 90 degree Texas heat. There was a breeze but it was still brutal. Just one other sweaty guy on the track besides me. The only good thing is that it was cloudy. When I got on the track, I could finally see all of the sky and there was a huge storm in the distance.

I decided to walk as far as I could in one direction for 15 min and then double back to my truck. I was hard. What's weird is that it took me longer getting there than it did going back. You would think that I'd be more tired going back, but I think it's because my muscles were loosened up.

When it was time to head back, the black clouds had moved much closer. The wind was blowing, and it started to rain. There is no way to easily get back to the parking lot. I started to panic for a second because I was wearing my fake (but oh so nice) Coach messenger bag that my brother gave me. I had stored my cell, mosquito spray and a handkerchief in it and I didn't want it or my new shoes to get wet. But I decided to look at it positively. At least the sun wasn't beating down on me, and the cool rain was refreshing.

60 seconds later, it ended. But it was still very dark. I made it back and headed home. It was funny because my apartments are so close to the track and yet they got drenched and I didn't! It didn't rain anymore the entire day. It was just overcast. I think the wind blew it away.

After that, the pain and stomach problems came back with a vengeance. I wanted to hurl so bad. I ended up sleeping some in the afternoon. When I got up, I had to head out to buy some rotisserie chicken to go with my white bean and escarole soup left over from yesterday. Well, it seems that the Walmart and Kroger stopped selling our the fresh rotisserie chicken! I was so mad. I wanted to cut it up and use for multiple meals and then boil the carcass to make homemade broth (maybe if I felt good enough). But of course, our tiny town didn't have any. So, I decided to buy three pieces of grilled chicken breasts from KFC. *Judge silently to yourselves* I was shocked when they charged me 6 bucks. I could have bought a whole package of chicken and more with that! Definitely not budget friendly, so I won't be doing that again.

There was no way I could have cooked tonight feeling the way I did. I bought some nausea medicine at Walgreens before I went to Walmart, and had to pull over in the parking lot to let the wave of nausea pass. I didn't even think I was gonna end up eating dinner. But I did and my DH really liked it.

For desert, we shared a Pureheart personal watermelon. It was so GOOD! Best watermelon we've ever had! It has a very thin rind, and no black seeds. It was so sweet it tasted like candy. I have a coupon for one, so I'm gonna get another one, or two. I couldn't finish all of mine, so I cut it up to put in DH's lunch tomorrow.

No matter what, we're gonna go walking tomorrow. I was very saddened to see that DH weighs 313, and he's only 5'6". Ya, he's going walking tomorrow! LOL.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Day 2 - 251.4 pounds

It may seem like I lost 6 pounds in one day, but I probably didn't. The last time I weighed myself was last Friday. So, that is 5 days. I'm not that hardcore now, so I think it's because I've been sick.

Today was much harder than yesterday. I haven't been sleeping well and DH wasn't thrilled about getting up at 5am. This is only day two. He's not starting off well. There wasn't much conversation. I only had the crunch of our shoes on the pavement to keep me company this morning. I was surprised that there were several people already on the track at the college in the pitch black. It's kind of scary, but I'm glad I have my big strong hubby with me. I hope he doesn't force me to go alone. It's too hot to go walking after 7am.

Food wise I did good. However, that may be in part because I'm having -TMI ALERT!- horrible nausea and diarrhea from the antibiotics. Everything tastes like metal. I love water, but not when it tastes like a penny!

I had the same thing as yesterday for breakfast. Two cups of coffee and a bowl of Kashi Go Lean with a whole banana. I made DH the same lunch as yesterday except that I added some Wheat Thins. I know the wheat thins aren't really healthy, but I'm trying to use them up. Besides, he needs more calories than I do right now.

For lunch, I made me a breakfast wrap from a recipe that I got from the Biggest Loser cookbook. It's really healthy and really good. You put lean turkey bacon and fat free egg substitute with some cheese and salsa in a whole wheat wrap. Mmmm! I ate a litte of the brown rice and brussel sprouts that I had left over from last night. I had gotten some free Celsius green tea in a CVS deal from last weekend. I finally decided to try it, which was a bad idea when I remembered that everything tastes like metal. So, I don't really know if it's good or not. It had an odd aftertaste, but so does water to me right now. I don't know why, but food tastes pretty OK, just drinks taste like metal. Strange!

Today was bad as far as pain goes. I think that I really overdid it on the weekend trying to get all the deals with my coupons. The Vicodin made me overconfident and I rebounded. So, I decided to take it easier today. I felt so nauseated that I wasn't gonna make dinner. Told DH to get something, but he decided to eat SAUSAGE in bread at home. That didn't make me happy! Then he threw it up anyway. I was secretly pleased. *shhh, don't tell*

Later on around 7pm, I made white bean and escarole soup. You can find it here. http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/WHITE-BEAN-AND-ESCAROLE-SOUP-WITH-GARLIC-1537
It's delicious! This is the kind of meal that makes me believe I could one day be vegetarian. DH was so tired that he just went to bed without eating, so I saved the soup for tomorrow's dinner.

I watched 'Losing it With Jillian' tonight and nearly lost it myself. The man in the show reminded me so much of my DH. He also has sleep apnea and needed to lose some serious pounds. It gave me a lot to think about. Jillian told his wife that she needed to tell her husband that she was furious with him to wake him up. The wife didn't want to seem like a nag. That's my problem too. Every time I try to initiate positive changes, they aren't always taken well around here. But maybe it will take me getting furious with him to wake him up as well. I've just always thought that he can't do it for me, he has to do it for himself. But at this point, I don't care who he does it for, he has to do it or he's facing an early death. We both are. This dude lost 60 lbs in 6 weeks. Seems kind of extreme to me, but if he can do it, I know my DH can.

The only other thing I ate was a 100 calorie pack of Lorna Doone's so that I could take my antibiotic. I hope tomorrow is a better day.

Monday, July 19, 2010

Day 1- 257 lbs Waist 49.5" Arm 15.5" Neck 16.5"

Today I woke up at 5 am with the hubby. I really did not want to get out of bed. I just got brand new 500 tc sheets (the first sheets I've bought in 7 yrs) and they felt soooo good! But I made a commitment. I was surprised that DH did not put up a fight. He got right up and got dressed. This made me feel really good and inspired me to get going.

Before we headed out, we had to gear ourselves up for the onslaught of mosquitoes. Here in TX, mosquitoes are the Texas state bird! We sprayed ourselves with a deet product and nearly passed out it was so strong. I was starting to wonder if there was something wrong with this spray I got at the dollar store. Needless to say, the mosquitoes didn't bother us.

We were out the door by 5:15. There is a community college behind our apartments, so we just walked to the walking trail there. He had to stop by 5:45 to leave for work at 6, so we walked as far as we could till 5:30 and then turned around. It was very dark, but we kept each other company. Had a few laughs. Saw a cat glare at us, and a few people jogging in the pitch black. By the time we got back the sky was starting to lighten up.

While he took a shower, I made DH a healthy lunch. Should have taken a pic of it. I made him a turkey sandwich with sprouts which he loves and two peeled mandarin oranges. That's all I had on hand, but it's better than no lunch which he is used to. I wish I could get him to eat breakfast. I know it's the most important meal of the day, but I'm having trouble convincing him of it. He says he just can't eat in the morning and I've told him he has to train himself to do it. We'll see. For now, I'm happy he's just eating lunch!

My body didn't hurt as much as I thought it would from the exercise. I went back to bed around 6:30 or 7 with all good intentions to get back up at 10 am. But I just couldn't stop hitting the snooze button on my cell phone. So...I got up around 11 and started my coffee.

I measured out a bowl of Kashi Go Lean. I got the one with "twigs." Why they call them twigs I don't know. It's bad enough that my stomach knows I'm eating healthy/diet food, to call them twigs is going to make me think they taste like twigs! But I was pleasantly surprised.

I sliced up a medium banana over the cereal and added enough Silk soy milk to wet the cereal. It was good, and filling too!

I drank one cup of coffee with International Delight hazelnut creamer and two teaspoons of agave nectar. That was good too. I also had one Ocean Spray mandarin orange and another cup of coffee with cream and agave.

The rest of the day flew by. I worked an hour and then had to do some coupon shopping. Got lots of free stuff but it exhausted me. Then I came home and did some tidying up and by that time it was time to start dinner.

I couldn't decide what to cook and couldn't remember my recipe list. So, I decided to look through the meat I had. I found my boneless skinless chicken in the freezer but didn't see my pork loins or top sirloin. Hm, so I thought I might have put it in the fridge for now. Didn't immediately find it, so I started tearing through the veggies in the crisper drawer thinking I might have left it in there.

And then I got a sickening feeling. DH unloaded the groceries for me last night. He was really tired. Could it be? NO! Could it? Ugh! I grabbed my keys and with a dreadful feeling went out to my truck and opened the back gate. And there it was. MEAT. Meat that had sat all day in 100 degree index weather. And the top sirloin wasn't cheap.

Right then I wanted to kill him. I told myself that we all make mistakes. But I had saved so much money yesterday with my coupons that I felt like all that saving was for nothing if he just ruined the meat!

I picked up my cell and saw that I had a missed call from him 15 min before. I called him back. I was not happy. He said there was no way, and I reminded him that he was the only one who unloaded. Of course, I know he was sorry, but I kept obsessing over the meat. Such a careless mistake, but I'm not perfect either. I will just have to go out sometime this week to pick up the meat that I need.

I still had the chicken, so I baked two seasoned boneless skinless chicken breasts. I made a cup of brown rice and a package of frozen brussels sprouts. To give it a little flavor, I put just a thin pat of real unsalted butter in the rice and sprouts.

It was pretty good! DH liked it. Even had leftovers of rice and sprouts. I didn't have high hopes for the brown rice because I haven't liked it all that much, but I must have gotten the right brand because this one was delicious. It was the cheapest bag I could find, so I'm surprised it was so good.

Later on around 10 I made a smoothie. The blender I have is messy, so I wasn't too excited about it, but it went ok. I put 1 cup mixed frozen fruit and half a banana in the blender. I added a cup of ice and a cup of Silk soy milk. I had bought this packet of smoothie mix at Kroger yesterday and started pouring it in. I got about half in there when I realized my mistake. I hadn't checked the back of the packet for nutritional information. I had just assumed that it was healthy. I looked on the back and with horror saw that it contained 15 grams of sugar. OOPS! I quickly put it away. I'm not going to buy that again!

It came out pretty well. Not all of the ice or berries blended, so I picked out the big chunks. It tasted pretty well, and I was able to drink a whole glass. Next time I might leave out the ice or play around with different ingredients.

I have to go to bed a little earlier tonight if I'm gonna get up in the morning to go walking. Lets hope the mosquitoes don't carry us off.

Introduction

My husband and I have no kids, but he's the only one working full time. I work from home semi part-time, 10-30 hrs a month. Therefore, we live paycheck to paycheck. Because of the high cost of healthy food, we've been in a rut of buying the cheap and unhealthy stuff to make ends meet. Now that we're trying to eat healthier, we're finding it a challenge to afford good food. I'm using coupons and trying to buy fruits and veggies in season. I'm trying to find the best deals I can so that we can make this work. I never know from week to week how much money will be left over for food shopping after bills and unexpected expenses. There may be times when we have to purchase food that is not as healthy (not talking about McDonald's here) to feed ourselves. If it comes down to that, we will severely limit our portions.

Another thing we are doing to be health conscious is we started walking. We both really wanted to join a gym, but I must admit that I'm having anxiety about that. All those staring eyes, knowing that I'm a complete newbie. But that's not the only thing. I'm worried that because I don't know how to use the machines, I will injure myself. We can't afford the extra cost for a personal trainer at the gym.We are both so big that it doesn't take much to throw our backs out or cause inflammation in our knees. Even though I'm in my late twenties and my DH is in his mid thirties, we are starting to act like old people because of our weight! So, I suggested to him that before joining a gym, that we start walking to ease ourselves into physical activity and get used to it. So far, we've been walking two days now. I don't know if my DH is going to have the willpower to keep doing it. Even if he doesn't, I will. I can't depend on him for my health because my life is at stake.

Recently, I've been really sick. I'm having pain in my abdomen and pelvis and the doctor's can't figure out why. Because we don't have health insurance, I am limited in the kind and amount of tests I can afford to get done. I'm in a lot of pain, but the doctor did give me two antibiotics (which are making me sick) and Vicodin. Hopefully I can figure out what is wrong so that I can be more active. The last three weeks, I've been confined to bed. But I decided that I'm not gonna let this pain beat me. I'm starting to feel a little better. Can't wait till I'm off of these antibiotics!

When I update the blog, I'm going to put my current weight and measurements (if I have them). The last time I went to the doctor, I weighed 257.4.

I hope that you enjoy this blog and that it inspires you!