Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Day 2 - 251.4 pounds

It may seem like I lost 6 pounds in one day, but I probably didn't. The last time I weighed myself was last Friday. So, that is 5 days. I'm not that hardcore now, so I think it's because I've been sick.

Today was much harder than yesterday. I haven't been sleeping well and DH wasn't thrilled about getting up at 5am. This is only day two. He's not starting off well. There wasn't much conversation. I only had the crunch of our shoes on the pavement to keep me company this morning. I was surprised that there were several people already on the track at the college in the pitch black. It's kind of scary, but I'm glad I have my big strong hubby with me. I hope he doesn't force me to go alone. It's too hot to go walking after 7am.

Food wise I did good. However, that may be in part because I'm having -TMI ALERT!- horrible nausea and diarrhea from the antibiotics. Everything tastes like metal. I love water, but not when it tastes like a penny!

I had the same thing as yesterday for breakfast. Two cups of coffee and a bowl of Kashi Go Lean with a whole banana. I made DH the same lunch as yesterday except that I added some Wheat Thins. I know the wheat thins aren't really healthy, but I'm trying to use them up. Besides, he needs more calories than I do right now.

For lunch, I made me a breakfast wrap from a recipe that I got from the Biggest Loser cookbook. It's really healthy and really good. You put lean turkey bacon and fat free egg substitute with some cheese and salsa in a whole wheat wrap. Mmmm! I ate a litte of the brown rice and brussel sprouts that I had left over from last night. I had gotten some free Celsius green tea in a CVS deal from last weekend. I finally decided to try it, which was a bad idea when I remembered that everything tastes like metal. So, I don't really know if it's good or not. It had an odd aftertaste, but so does water to me right now. I don't know why, but food tastes pretty OK, just drinks taste like metal. Strange!

Today was bad as far as pain goes. I think that I really overdid it on the weekend trying to get all the deals with my coupons. The Vicodin made me overconfident and I rebounded. So, I decided to take it easier today. I felt so nauseated that I wasn't gonna make dinner. Told DH to get something, but he decided to eat SAUSAGE in bread at home. That didn't make me happy! Then he threw it up anyway. I was secretly pleased. *shhh, don't tell*

Later on around 7pm, I made white bean and escarole soup. You can find it here. http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/WHITE-BEAN-AND-ESCAROLE-SOUP-WITH-GARLIC-1537
It's delicious! This is the kind of meal that makes me believe I could one day be vegetarian. DH was so tired that he just went to bed without eating, so I saved the soup for tomorrow's dinner.

I watched 'Losing it With Jillian' tonight and nearly lost it myself. The man in the show reminded me so much of my DH. He also has sleep apnea and needed to lose some serious pounds. It gave me a lot to think about. Jillian told his wife that she needed to tell her husband that she was furious with him to wake him up. The wife didn't want to seem like a nag. That's my problem too. Every time I try to initiate positive changes, they aren't always taken well around here. But maybe it will take me getting furious with him to wake him up as well. I've just always thought that he can't do it for me, he has to do it for himself. But at this point, I don't care who he does it for, he has to do it or he's facing an early death. We both are. This dude lost 60 lbs in 6 weeks. Seems kind of extreme to me, but if he can do it, I know my DH can.

The only other thing I ate was a 100 calorie pack of Lorna Doone's so that I could take my antibiotic. I hope tomorrow is a better day.

No comments:

Post a Comment