Today I woke up at 5 am with the hubby. I really did not want to get out of bed. I just got brand new 500 tc sheets (the first sheets I've bought in 7 yrs) and they felt soooo good! But I made a commitment. I was surprised that DH did not put up a fight. He got right up and got dressed. This made me feel really good and inspired me to get going.
Before we headed out, we had to gear ourselves up for the onslaught of mosquitoes. Here in TX, mosquitoes are the Texas state bird! We sprayed ourselves with a deet product and nearly passed out it was so strong. I was starting to wonder if there was something wrong with this spray I got at the dollar store. Needless to say, the mosquitoes didn't bother us.
We were out the door by 5:15. There is a community college behind our apartments, so we just walked to the walking trail there. He had to stop by 5:45 to leave for work at 6, so we walked as far as we could till 5:30 and then turned around. It was very dark, but we kept each other company. Had a few laughs. Saw a cat glare at us, and a few people jogging in the pitch black. By the time we got back the sky was starting to lighten up.
While he took a shower, I made DH a healthy lunch. Should have taken a pic of it. I made him a turkey sandwich with sprouts which he loves and two peeled mandarin oranges. That's all I had on hand, but it's better than no lunch which he is used to. I wish I could get him to eat breakfast. I know it's the most important meal of the day, but I'm having trouble convincing him of it. He says he just can't eat in the morning and I've told him he has to train himself to do it. We'll see. For now, I'm happy he's just eating lunch!
My body didn't hurt as much as I thought it would from the exercise. I went back to bed around 6:30 or 7 with all good intentions to get back up at 10 am. But I just couldn't stop hitting the snooze button on my cell phone. So...I got up around 11 and started my coffee.
I measured out a bowl of Kashi Go Lean. I got the one with "twigs." Why they call them twigs I don't know. It's bad enough that my stomach knows I'm eating healthy/diet food, to call them twigs is going to make me think they taste like twigs! But I was pleasantly surprised.
I sliced up a medium banana over the cereal and added enough Silk soy milk to wet the cereal. It was good, and filling too!
I drank one cup of coffee with International Delight hazelnut creamer and two teaspoons of agave nectar. That was good too. I also had one Ocean Spray mandarin orange and another cup of coffee with cream and agave.
The rest of the day flew by. I worked an hour and then had to do some coupon shopping. Got lots of free stuff but it exhausted me. Then I came home and did some tidying up and by that time it was time to start dinner.
I couldn't decide what to cook and couldn't remember my recipe list. So, I decided to look through the meat I had. I found my boneless skinless chicken in the freezer but didn't see my pork loins or top sirloin. Hm, so I thought I might have put it in the fridge for now. Didn't immediately find it, so I started tearing through the veggies in the crisper drawer thinking I might have left it in there.
And then I got a sickening feeling. DH unloaded the groceries for me last night. He was really tired. Could it be? NO! Could it? Ugh! I grabbed my keys and with a dreadful feeling went out to my truck and opened the back gate. And there it was. MEAT. Meat that had sat all day in 100 degree index weather. And the top sirloin wasn't cheap.
Right then I wanted to kill him. I told myself that we all make mistakes. But I had saved so much money yesterday with my coupons that I felt like all that saving was for nothing if he just ruined the meat!
I picked up my cell and saw that I had a missed call from him 15 min before. I called him back. I was not happy. He said there was no way, and I reminded him that he was the only one who unloaded. Of course, I know he was sorry, but I kept obsessing over the meat. Such a careless mistake, but I'm not perfect either. I will just have to go out sometime this week to pick up the meat that I need.
I still had the chicken, so I baked two seasoned boneless skinless chicken breasts. I made a cup of brown rice and a package of frozen brussels sprouts. To give it a little flavor, I put just a thin pat of real unsalted butter in the rice and sprouts.
It was pretty good! DH liked it. Even had leftovers of rice and sprouts. I didn't have high hopes for the brown rice because I haven't liked it all that much, but I must have gotten the right brand because this one was delicious. It was the cheapest bag I could find, so I'm surprised it was so good.
Later on around 10 I made a smoothie. The blender I have is messy, so I wasn't too excited about it, but it went ok. I put 1 cup mixed frozen fruit and half a banana in the blender. I added a cup of ice and a cup of Silk soy milk. I had bought this packet of smoothie mix at Kroger yesterday and started pouring it in. I got about half in there when I realized my mistake. I hadn't checked the back of the packet for nutritional information. I had just assumed that it was healthy. I looked on the back and with horror saw that it contained 15 grams of sugar. OOPS! I quickly put it away. I'm not going to buy that again!
It came out pretty well. Not all of the ice or berries blended, so I picked out the big chunks. It tasted pretty well, and I was able to drink a whole glass. Next time I might leave out the ice or play around with different ingredients.
I have to go to bed a little earlier tonight if I'm gonna get up in the morning to go walking. Lets hope the mosquitoes don't carry us off.
No comments:
Post a Comment